Your browser does not support JavaScript!
Secretaria Geral MAI

5+5 Dialogue

The 5+5 Dialogue is the designation adopted for the Western Mediterranean cooperation process, launched in 1983 by France in 1983, with the aim of:
  • Reinforcing the political dialogue and cooperation in common interests of Occidental Mediterranean countries;
  • Promoting the economic development of Maghreb
It comprises five European countries, from Mediterranean north side (Portugal, Spain, France, Italy and Malta) and five countries from the newly born Arab Maghreb Union (Algeria, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania and Tunisia).
This cooperation process has sectorial formations besides the general coordination, under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. 5+5 Dialogue deals with  the cooperation in the fields of Home Affairs, Defence, Foreign Affairs, and also in the sectors of Transports, Tourism and Environment/Renewal Energies.
Conferences of the Western Mediterranean Interior Ministers (CIMO)
The highest-level cooperation in 5+5 Dialogue concerning security issues is based on Conferences of the  WesternMediterranean Interior Ministers. CIMO’s mandate cover internal administration area and so far has included issues like security, migration, borders, civil protection and local communities.
CIMO has a markedly informal character, as is the nature of Dialogue 5 + 5, where it fits in, assuming itself as a forum for political debate. As a rule, a final declaration is adopted at the end of each Conference, which adopts the name of the city of the host country and establishes the guidelines and priorities for action until the next CIMO.
Working groups have been created in those ministerial meetings, in  different areas considered relevant by CIMO like terrorism; organized crime; movement of persons and the fight against illegal immigration; training of police officers; civil protection and local administration.
The CIMO Presidency is exercised based on the availability of each country  and the acceptance by the other partners of the Dialogue. The country that holds the Presidency of CIMO, hosts and organizes the CIMO meeting that year.

   Portugal has already held the Presidency of CIMO in 2000, having assumed the presidency again in 2015

In this context, that the 16th Conference of the Western Mediterranean Interior Ministers took place in Lisbon on May 19, 2015, which resulted in the Lisbon Declaration (french version) that  reaffirm the commitments made in Algiers and introduces road safety as a new cooperation dimension among the ten Mediterranean countries.
5+5 Migrations Dialogue
The Ministerial Conferences of the 5+5 Migrations Dialogue constitute a step forward in consolidation of space for informal dialogue. It integrates the principles and objectives defined in the course of this process with a view to strengthening the political dialogue on common issues related to migration policies and cooperation in the management of migration flows between the countries of this Dialogue.
5+5 Migrations Dialogue has promoted:
  • Cooperation between countries of origin, transit and destination in order to better manage migration, including all issues related to mobility and forms of circular migration, information systems, prevention of illegal immigration and combating trafficking in human beings;
  • Reception and integration of migrants in destination societies;
  • The human and economic benefits of migration to countries of origin and destination, including development issues
Quadripartite Ministerial meeting between Portugal, Spain, France and Morocco – G4
The quadripartite meeting (called the G4) had its origin in a French initiative, and aims to analyse and discuss a range of issues and subjects that, within the areas of competence of the Ministries of Interior/Home Affairs, are of great concern to the Governments of the States concerned. The 'G4' formation is an enhanced cooperation mechanism, particularly in the context of regional cooperation processes involving the two shores of the Mediterranean (in particular the CIMO and 5+5 Migrations Dialogue).
I meeting – Rabat, January 25, 2013: adoption of a Joint Declaration (the Rabat Declaration) to formalise the common will of the States concerned to cooperate in the management of migratory flows and in the fight against drug trafficking, terrorism and illegal migration.
II meeting – Paris, February 20, 2014: review of the results achieved and establishment of new perspectives with the adoption of a Conclusions document on four key areas namely, the management of migratory flows, the fight against drug trafficking, the fight against terrorism and police cooperation.
Among the main conclusions of this meeting in Paris, and in parallel with the promotion of regular meetings between experts from each  State concerned, it is important to highlight the commitment of the Parties to strengthen cross-border cooperation and to exchange information and good practices. The security Forces and Services of the Ministry of  Home Affairs'  have important experiences and good practices to share with  partners in those areas, and are receptive to learn  from their good practices.
In this context, it is important to note the strong commitment of the Portuguese MHA to increased bilateral and multilateral cooperation with other G4 member States, in areas that are very relevant to public safety and tranquillity. like: (i) the management of migratory flows; (ii) the fight against drug trafficking; (iii) the fight against terrorism; and iv) police cooperation.
The results achieved with this cooperation mechanism were reinforced with the MHA Liaison Officers' posts, set up in Rabat and Paris in December 2013, as well as with the accession of Portugal and France to the Centre for Ibero-Moroccan Police Cooperation in Algeciras. It should also be noted that the Security Forces and Services of Portugal participated in the various meetings of experts on specific matters considered relevant for internal security, and that the SEF organised in Portugal a meeting dedicated to the topic of border management and control, as well as a seminar on "Document fraud".
 In 2015 Portugal assumed the G4 Presidency for the first time.
The III G4 Meeting, held on April 28, 2015 marked the beginning of the Portuguese Presidency of this enhanced cooperation group. At the meeting, the Lisbon Conclusions (french version) were adopted with a view to strengthening bilateral and multilateral cooperation links between the four Western Mediterranean States, which share common concerns in areas such as  management, of migration flows, prevention and combating of drug trafficking, prevention and combating of terrorism and police cooperation.
The IV ministerial meeting was held in Seville,  on July 3, 2017, and resulted in the, Seville Declaration (only portuguese version)  which reinforces the cooperation commitment and for the first time provides for the preparation of a Joint Action Plan, which execution will be supervised by a Steering Committee.
The next meeting will take place in Morocco, in 2018.


Última atualização: 16-01-2018 15:14


Secretaria-Geral da Administração Interna
Rua S. Mamede n.23
1100-533 Lisboa

Tel: 213 409 000

© 2022 - SGMAI - Todos os direitos reservados